Vehicle Recall IndexVIN decoding & NHTSA recall records

Model year 2024 · Ford

2024 Ford Explorer recalls

NHTSA's recall file lists 10 safety recall campaigns for the 2024 Ford Explorer. The most recent was reported on July 14, 2026. Campaigns are matched by the model names in NHTSA's records: EXPLORER.

NHTSA data through October 6, 2026 · How these pages are built

Campaigns at a glance

Recall campaigns for the 2024 Ford Explorer, newest first
NHTSA numberReportedComponent
26V451000July 14, 2026Seats › Mid/Rear Assembly
26V371000June 9, 2026Power Train › Automatic Transmission
26V159000March 17, 2026Seat Belts
26V123000March 3, 2026Back Over Prevention › Software
26V012000January 15, 2026Equipment › Electrical › Engine Block Heater
25V687000October 10, 2025Trailer Hitches
25V442000June 27, 2025Back Over Prevention › Software
25V393000June 13, 2025Seats › Mid/Rear Assembly
24V852000November 8, 2024Equipment › Other › Labels
24V685000September 13, 2024Electrical System › 12v/24v/48v Battery › Cables

Systems involved: Back Over Prevention (2) · Equipment (2) · Seats (2) · Electrical System (1) · Hybrid Propulsion System (1) · Power Train (1) · Seat Belts (1) · Trailer Hitches (1)

Recall records

NHTSA 26V451000Manufacturer no. 26S52

Seats › Mid/Rear Assembly

Report received by NHTSA
July 14, 2026
Owner notification
August 21, 2026
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
387,911 (whole campaign)
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2020-2027 Aviator and 2020-2026 Explorer vehicles. The switch for the easy-entry second-row outer seats may bind or stick, resulting in the seats unlatching, tipping, or sliding unexpectedly.

Safety risk

A seat that moves unexpectedly may not properly restrain an occupant during a crash, increasing the risk of injury.

Remedy

Dealers will inspect and replace the bezel around the switch as necessary, free of charge. This will be a phased campaign, with the remedy becoming available in different phases based on model and model years. Interim letters explaining the safety risk were mailed August 19, 2026. Additional letters will be sent once the remedy is available, anticipated in January 2027. Lincoln Aviator owner notification letters were mailed August 21, 2026. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26S52. This recall expands Recall 25V393. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on July 16, 2026.

Source: NHTSA recall 26V451000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 26V371000Manufacturer no. 26S39

Power Train › Automatic Transmission

Report received by NHTSA
June 9, 2026
Owner notification
June 24, 2026
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
58 (whole campaign)
Build dates listed for the 2024 Ford Explorer
January 3, 2024 – April 25, 2024
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2024 Explorer vehicles equipped with a 2.3L engine and 10R60 automatic transmission. An unintentional powertrain control module (PCM) reset may occur while the vehicle is in motion and result in park system damage.

Safety risk

A park system that is damaged may not shift into "PARK," resulting in a vehicle rollaway and increasing the risk of injury or crash.

Remedy

Dealers will inspect for park system damage and replace the park system components as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed June 24, 2026. Owners may contact customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26S39. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall will become searchable on NHTSA.gov on June 12, 2026.

Source: NHTSA recall 26V371000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 26V159000Manufacturer no. 26C18

Seat Belts

Report received by NHTSA
March 17, 2026
Owner notification
March 30, 2026
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
561 (whole campaign)
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2020-2026 Explorer and Lincoln Aviator vehicles. The seat belt anchor bolts at the second-row outer seating positions may be improperly secured.

Safety risk

A loose seat belt buckle may not properly restrain an occupant during a crash, increasing the risk of injury.

Remedy

Dealers will inspect the second-row outer seat belt lower anchor bolts and replace or repair them as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed March 30, 2026. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26C18. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on March 19, 2026.

Source: NHTSA recall 26V159000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 26V123000Manufacturer no. 26C11

Back Over Prevention › Software

Report received by NHTSA
March 3, 2026
Owner notification
June 23, 2026
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
889,950 (whole campaign)
Build dates listed for the 2024 Ford Explorer
Not reported – April 25, 2024
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2020-2022 Escape, Lincoln Corsair, 2020-2024 Lincoln Aviator, and Explorer vehicles. The image on the center display may flip or invert, resulting in an incorrectly displayed rearview image when the vehicle is placed in reverse. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 111, "Rear Visibility."

Safety risk

An incorrectly displayed rearview image can reduce the driver’s view behind the vehicle, increasing the risk of a crash.

Remedy

Dealers will update the accessory protocol interface module (APIM) software, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed June 23, 2026. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 26C11. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on March 5, 2026.

Source: NHTSA recall 26V123000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 26V012000Manufacturer no. 25SA4

Equipment › Electrical › Engine Block Heater

Report received by NHTSA
January 15, 2026
Owner notification
Not yet in the record
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
2,403 (whole campaign)
Build dates listed for the 2024 Ford Explorer
May 20, 2023 – April 25, 2024
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2016-2018 Focus, 2019 Explorer, and 2024 Explorer vehicles. The engine block heater may crack and develop a coolant leak, causing it to short circuit when the block heater is plugged in.

Safety risk

An electrical short circuit can increase the risk of a fire.

Remedy

Owners are advised not to plug in their block heater until the vehicle is remedied. Dealers will replace the block heater, free of charge. Owners will also have a alternative option to replace engine block heater element with a threaded blanking plug, and remove the block heater electrical cord. Interim letters, notifying owners of the safety risk, were mailed February 13, 2026. Additional letters will be sent once the final remedy is available, anticipated in October 2026. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25SA4. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on January 16, 2026. This recall expands previous recall number 25V685.

Source: NHTSA recall 26V012000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 25V687000Manufacturer no. 25SA3

Trailer Hitches

Report received by NHTSA
October 10, 2025
Owner notification
October 29, 2025
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
1,412 (whole campaign)
Build dates listed for the 2024 Ford Explorer
January 17, 2024 – Not reported
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2024-2026 Explorer and 2024-2026 Lincoln Aviator vehicles. The trailer hitch assembly bolts may be loose.

Safety risk

While towing a trailer, loose trailer hitch bolts can cause a loss of vehicle handling and control, or cause the trailer to detach. Either of these conditions can increase the risk of a crash.

Remedy

Dealers will inspect and tighten the trailer hitch bolts, or replace them as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed October 29, 2025. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25SA3. Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) involved in this recall became searchable on NHTSA.gov on October 15, 2025.

Source: NHTSA recall 25V687000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 25V442000Manufacturer no. 25S72

Back Over Prevention › Software

Report received by NHTSA
June 27, 2025
Owner notification
September 4, 2025
Recall initiated by
NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation
Units potentially affected
200,237 (whole campaign)
Build dates listed for the 2024 Ford Explorer
Not reported – December 22, 2023
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2018-2022 Transit Connect, 2019-2020 MKZ, MKX, Edge, Continental, F-150, Nautilus, Fusion, 2019-2023 Ranger, Mustang, 2020-2021 EcoSport, Expedition, Navigator, 2020-2022 Escape, F-250 SD, Corsair, 2020-2023 Aviator, Transit, 2020-2024 Explorer, 2021-2024 Bronco Sport, and 2022-2024 Maverick vehicles. A software error may cause the rearview camera to display a blank image, or the image may remain on the display after the backing event has ended.

Safety risk

A rearview camera that displays a blank image can reduce the driver's view behind the vehicle. A rearview image that continues to be displayed after the vehicle is shifted out of reverse may distract the driver. Both of these situations can increase the risk of a crash.

Remedy

Dealers will update the rearview camera software, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed September 4, 2025. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25S72.

Source: NHTSA recall 25V442000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 25V393000Manufacturer no. 25S67

Seats › Mid/Rear Assembly

Report received by NHTSA
June 13, 2025
Owner notification
August 7, 2025
Recall initiated by
NHTSA Office of Defects Investigation
Units potentially affected
304,662 (whole campaign)
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2020-2025 Aviator, and Explorer vehicles. The switch for the easy-entry second-row outer seats may bind or stick, resulting in the seats unlatching, folding, or sliding unexpectedly while driving.

Safety risk

A seat that moves unexpectedly may not properly restrain an occupant during a crash, increasing their risk of injury.

Remedy

Dealers will inspect the second-row seat switch, and replace the bezel around the switch as necessary, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed August 7, 2025. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 25S67.

Source: NHTSA recall 25V393000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 24V852000Manufacturer no. 24C39

Equipment › Other › Labels

Report received by NHTSA
November 8, 2024
Owner notification
December 19, 2024
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
27,678 (whole campaign)
Build dates listed for the 2024 Ford Explorer
April 26, 2019 – August 27, 2024
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2020-2025 Explorer, Lincoln Aviator, 2020-2024 Escape, Lincoln Corsair, 2018-2024 F-150, Expedition and Lincoln Navigator vehicles. The air bag warning label may be missing from the dashboard. As such, these vehicles fail to comply with the requirement Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard number 208, "Occupant Crash Protection."

Safety risk

Without a label that shows the proper restraint usage guidelines, the occupants may have an increased risk of injury in the event of a crash.

Remedy

Ford will mail owners the warning labels, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed December 19, 2024. Owners may call Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 24C39.

Notes in the NHTSA record

Owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Vehicle Safety Hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (TTY 1-800-424-9153) or go to nhtsa.gov.

Source: NHTSA recall 24V852000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

NHTSA 24V685000Manufacturer no. 24S61

Electrical System › 12v/24v/48v Battery › Cables

Report received by NHTSA
September 13, 2024
Owner notification
November 8, 2024
Recall initiated by
Manufacturer
Units potentially affected
61 (whole campaign)
Model names in the NHTSA record
EXPLORER

Components: Electrical System › 12v/24v/48v Battery › Cables; Hybrid Propulsion System

Defect summary

Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain 2024 Ford Explorer vehicles equipped with 3.3L Hybrid engines. The 12-Volt battery cable may chafe against the Belt-integrated Starter Generat (BiSG) and short circuit.

Safety risk

A short circuit increases the risk of a fire.

Remedy

Dealers will install a tie strap between the battery cable and high voltage cable, free of charge. Owner notification letters were mailed November 8, 2024. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-866-436-7332. Ford's number for this recall is 24S61.

Notes in the NHTSA record

Owners may also contact the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Vehicle Safety Hotline at 1-888-327-4236 (TTY 1-800-424-9153), or go to www.nhtsa.gov.

Source: NHTSA recall 24V685000, filed by Ford Motor Company. View the campaign on NHTSA.gov

Records reproduce NHTSA's published text for each campaign. Last record date for this page: July 15, 2026.